Public Institution "Lazdijai Tourism Information Center"

Veisei Synagogue

Jewish heritage

In the extremely picturesque oasis of southern Lithuania, on the two peninsulas of Lake Ančias, Veisieja has been located since the 18th century. Ave. was also the home of one of the Lithuanian Jewish communities. An important trade route to Seine passed through Veisiej, which made the area attractive to Jewish settlers. With the permission of the bishop of Vilnius in the 18th century. help Jews built a synagogue in Veisiejai, an independent Jewish community was formed, which greatly contributed to the growth of the town. The number of Jews in Veiseije also grew steadily in the 19th century. at the end of the 19th century, Jews constituted a significant majority of all residents of the area and the economic core of the town: there were many Jewish warehouses, a power plant, a bank, a sawmill, bakeries, a butcher, a pharmacy, and a brickyard. It is interesting that it was Jewish youth who founded the first football club in Veisiejai, and football traditions in the city are continued by the Dainava football club.

in 1748 with the first synagogue in Veisiejai, the history of local synagogues began - fire after fire and one synagogue was always replaced by another in the same place. The current wooden synagogue that has survived here was built in 1927. on the shore of Lake Ančias, has almost kept its original form to this day. The green-painted two-story building with a veranda-like porch and 12 large windows marking part of the former worship hall is a unique memory of the once multicultural town of Veisiei. The building itself has conditionally retained its function as a house of prayer - since 2004. a Baptist church meets here.

Information from the page of Jewish heritage in Lithuania:




  • Vi

    Why has the old synagogue not been marked with a sign?